• t20

Shehzad, Gul dropped as squad for T20 World Cup announced

LAHORE, Feb 10 (INP): The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Wednesday announced 15-member squad for the Asia Cup and Twenty20 World Cup dropping opener Ahmed Shehzad and pacer Umar Gul. Naming Shahid Afridi as captain, Muhammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Muhammad Irfan, Rumman Raees, Wahab Riaz, Muhammad Nawaz, Babar Azam, Iftikhar Ahmed, Muhammad Amir, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Khurram Manzoor were included in the team.

The selectors picked Muhammad Nawaz and Rumman Raees because of their performance in the ongoing Pakistan Super League (PSL). Shehzad, who scored a match-winning 71 off 46 balls for Quetta Gladiators against Karachi Kings in the Pakistan Super League (PSL) last week, could not impress the selectors enough to earn a spot in the national team. Twenty20 cricket’s mega event will be held in India from March 8 to April 3, and the International Cricket Council (ICC) had set February 8 as the deadline for naming squads for the tournament. But the PCB requested the world governing body to give them more time to assess the performances of the players featuring in the PSL.

Share This Post

About Author: Big News Online

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>